All hotels in London, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
Stratton StreetLondonEnglandW1J 8LTUnited Kingdom, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeIf you find a better price on the same exact stay within 7 days of booking, we’ll match it. See our ‘User Terms’ for details and recent changes.
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
4.3 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 476 reviews)

  • Location
    Great location
  • Service
    Fantastic service
  • Bar and Beverages
    Bar is awesome
  • Breakfast
    Tasty breakfast
  • Room
    Room is all right
  • Value for money
    Poor value for money
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent London location"
We were able to walk to most sites of interest and wonderful shopping and dinning on Piccadilly.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 1, 2014
Sandi
US
3.0 / 5Good
"This is a hotel for Buisness Men"
We are a retired traveling couple and this is a buisnessmans hotel. It is a large hotel and we were placed on the 8th floor as far in the back as you could walk. Everything was fine but it was not a hotel that we enjoyed or wourld return to. We have stayed at much more comfortable boutique London hotels for less money and enjoyed them more. Choosing this one was a mistake.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Sep 22, 2014
Bob
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent business trip - hotel was as advertised!"
Really enjoyed a one week business trip to London. Location perfect for our meetings. Food was great, service was "European-solid" (i.e., slower than US, but as expected if you understand the differences). Everyone very friendly and went out of their way to be nice. Soooooo...recommended!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
6 night business trip Sep 7, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
It was good,but not very good. I have to change the room because bad smell
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review. I was so sorry to hear about the smell in your room and please do accept my apologies for this. I was pleased to hear you were moved rooms and I do hope this was more to your liking. We hope to welcome you back again soon. With my best wishes, Inderneel Singh General Manager
Other trip Sep 11, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very nice trendy hotel. Great location."
Main areas of the hotel are very nice. However, the rooms are very small and it was in a king deluxe room. There was only 3 small drawers to put clothes and a very small open hanging area in the bathroom. Hotel very nice ... Rooms disappointing
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you liked the main areas of the Hotel. I was sorry to hear that you found the room you occupied to be small. If you return to stay with us, please do metnion this to our Reception and we will ensure you are allocated one of our larger King Deluxe Bedrooms. With my best wishes, Inderneel Singh General Manager
Other trip Sep 8, 2014
Steve
US
3.0 / 5Good
too expensive....buffet breakfast 65. pounds for two....
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Aug 17, 2014
joe
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
rooms are quite small and sometimes hard to get a taxi from the hotel area
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Aug 10, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent hotel, central location"
The May Fair Hotel is in excellent choice. The location is very convenient for nice restaurants, and shopping, which are all within easy walking distance. Green Park underground station is a short walk from the hotel. The hotel staff, particularly the front desk, were exceptionally helpful and friendly. My room was large by London hotel standards, and very comfortable. Free wifi is available. Definitely worth considering for future visits.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 1, 2014
The Leopard
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Not a great experience"
I arrived at 11:00 pm but it took 20 minutes for the receptionist to check me in.,I arrived in a tiny room without internet connection. It took tow more Rooms and two more hours until closed to 2 am to realized that all of these rooms in that side of the hotel have NO internet connection. The receptionist even snuggest ex at one time that I use th business center at 1:3 am! This hotel should not rated five stars. The rugs are dirty. The linens and towels are. Great, but this is not sufficient to make the stay good. I do NOT recommend.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Jul 21, 2014
Daniella smith
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great location"
Not far from Piccadilly Circus area and Hyde Park. Stayed with my husband and 2 kids. Room was spacious as was the bathroom. Very clean. Concierge was very helpful and friendly! All staff was great. Loved the water at the front desk!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back soon. With my best wishes, Inderneel Singh General Manager
Other trip Jul 22, 2014
Tammy
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Beautiful Hotel, Friendly staff"
Arrived in London on the last leg of a Rome, Florence, Venice, Paris, and London vacation. Arrived to find a beautiful hotel, friendly staff. We checked in and were told that our room would be a bit far from the elevator (lift) but that it had beautiful views. We checked into the room and found the view of a rooftop and side of the building and the kids and I kind of laughed it off because we didn't expressly ask for a view when we booked the reservation. The beds we found were worn and not comfortable compared to the 4 star hotels we had stayed in for the rest of our trip, so this being our last hotel being a 5 star hotel we expected better. I've only ever made reviews of hotels that were positive and feel uncomfortable saying anything negative, but felt a need to mention that the air conditioning in the room did not cool the room off to a comfortable temperature. There was a heatwave in London, but that's not enough of an excuse for this caliper of a hotel. When we departed the hotel we were puzzled by the fact that there was a demonstration/event going on and many of the streets were blocked off. We were assisted in getting a taxi after walking a few blocks with our luggage by a kind staff member. This was in no way the fault of the hotel as even the taxi driver couldn't find any streets that weren't blocked off to get us to Heathrow with a 2.5 hour lead time so dropped us off at the train station were we narrowly made out flight home to the US.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 20, 2014
Sandra
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"May Fair Hotel"
The May Fair Hotel is in a great location, in the heart of May Fair, close to St. James and Piccadilly Circus, all the Underground lines, etc. What makes this a great hotel is the service. The breakfast is excellent and the service was superb. Even the housekeeping staff was superb, as was the lobby staff. The athletic facilities located in the basement are small, but still quite adequate. The only negative about the hotel are the room furnishings. They are quite garish. These crazy red chairs, no desk, and like a lounge, all of which are incredibly cheap. But like I said the service could not have been better.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 12, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not a Four Star, by a stretch"
The May Fair was in a good location, but the hotel itself was disappointing. No bell staff to carry our bags, tacky decor, and our room overlooked air shafts. When we asked to change rooms we waited 30 min (though they repeatedly said they were on their way) and were take (again without bell staff) to an identically terrible room. Elvis was clearly the decorator of this hotel and I can imagine who is in charge. Won't be going back
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Jul 1, 2014
Anne
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very central location"
Stayed at this hotel many times. Always very good. Staff busy - took 25 min before we got our luggage. Recommend, very central Mayfair location.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will most certainly follow up on your comments about the luggage delay and thank you for bringing this to my attention. We do hope to welcome you back soon. With my best wishes, Inderneel Singh General Manager
Other trip Jun 8, 2014
Jensen
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect part of London"
It was fantastic. Upscale. Better than I am used to.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip May 28, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location, but too many smoking guests."
I've stayed at the Mayfair many times, and it is a very nice hotel. Unfortunately, it seems to attract a large smoking clientele. Just walk down the hall on any floor and your will smell the cigarette smoke. They need to adopt a zero tolerance policy for guests that disobey the rules - and the laws - and toss them out of the hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jun 2, 2014
PCF
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location"
Hotel was very nice - fantastic breakfast, great locale. Standard room was too small for two adults . Didn't care for scented lobby
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip May 15, 2014
Arne
US
3.0 / 5Good
great location but the service and room condition is very poor. sad to see the focus on the inside to be so poor
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night business trip May 11, 2014
John
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Business and a bit of leisure"
Great hotel with excellent staff! Superb housekeeping.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 4, 2014
Aimee
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great experience. Tremendous location"
Great experience. Tremendous location. Staff was awesome
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you had a great experience and enjoyed the location. Thank you also for your kind compliments about our team. We hope to welcome you back soon. With my best wishes, Inderneel Inderneel Singh General Manager
Other trip Apr 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Ok hotel, great location"
Location is GREAT!, for a 5 star hotel and return on your money there are better options in London. Ex. Rosewood.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Apr 5, 2014
JM
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location"
The Mayfair is a great business hotel in a great location. Walking distance to major museums, art galleries, and Mayfair located businesses. The staff are excellent and provide service rarely found today. The hotel is very large which results in some noise and the general dsense of its being commercial especially in the bar and lounge.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 26, 2014
Steve
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"the mayfair"
loved everything about this hotel. right next to the tube station, attractions, and nice restaurants.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 16, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"AMAZING STAFF"
A GREAT LOCATION, GREAT ROOM SERVICE, VERY COMFORTABLE SLEEP IN OUR LARGE VERY CLEAN ROOM. BEST OF ALL WAS THE AMAZING STAFF! WHAT A FANTASTIC GROUP OF PEOPLE THAT WORK AT THIS HOTEL. THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR TRIP MEMORABLE! Walking distance to Regent street shopping, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Hyde park and a small grocery store directly across the street. The bus tours are great for getting around and learning about the city. We've stayed here before and we will stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jan 21, 2014
One of the Best hotels in London
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Will go again!"
Loved the hotel, food, service, room and location! No complains from start to finish, great.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Jan 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"New year stay"
Wonderful stay. Staff terrific. I had a noisy outside disturbance my last night and the amazing night manager on duty Nasir moved me immediately to a different room. This is a very nice hotel with great location, great amenities and terrific staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your kind review and I am so pleased to hear the Night Manager was able to arrange something for you. Please do accept my personal apologies for this disturbance. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. With best wishes, Inderneel Inderneel Singh General Manager
Other trip Jan 11, 2014
maureen
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent Hotel and Staff"
We stayed at the Mayfair for a long weekend from NY. Taking the overnight flight and arriving at 10:30am they were able to put us in a temporary room and at 3pm that afternoon move us into our regular room. In addition the concierge was able to get us a table at a great restaurant for a special dinner. To top it all off I left some cash in the safe on leaving which was recovered. Amazing. Our room was great. Comfortable and quite with a great bathroom. The hotel location was perfect. Close to the West End but not in it. But the staff is what really put the hotel over the top!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your wonderful review. I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service met with your expectations. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. With my best wishes, Inderneel Inderneel Singh General Manager
Other trip Jan 7, 2014
Albert
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Location!"
My husband and I arrived at the May Fair Hotel on Boxing Day, 2013. From the beginning, it was a terrific experience. We stayed for 9 nights. We were greeted by a very friendly person at the front desk. We received our room immediately upon arrival. Unfortunately, the non-smoking room smelled of smoke as soon as we got inside. Aside from that, it was a lovely room. We called down to the front desk immediately and they re-assigned us to a new room. In fact, because we were staying for 9 nights, they upgraded us without us requesting to a Luxury King room. It was on the 7th of 8 floors. I have to say, it was one of the quietest rooms in which I have stayed. The hotel staff was very professional and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We were in Mayfair right at the Green Park underground station. Very close to Buckingham Palace, and 1 tube stop from Piccadilly Circus. It was so central to everything. We have traveled in many places in Europe. London is our favorite city, and the May Fair is now our favorite hotel. We will definitely be staying at the May Fair the next time we are in London. Thank you to everyone at the May Fair!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your kind review and I am so pleased to hear how delighted you were with your stay. Your compliments were a pleasure to read. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. With my best wishes, Inderneel Inderneel Singh General Manager
Other trip Jan 6, 2014
Gregory
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location"
I have stayed at this hotel twice. Great location to walk around the west end, or easy to jump on underground into city.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 17, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Great location, buffet breakfast over priced
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night family trip Oct 23, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Everything was great- the only problem was that we had to pay for an upgrade to a larger room in order to have a third person in the room. This occurred even though the Hotels.com site said the larger room we requested would accommodate three. It wasn't clear if it was the hotel or the web-site error, but we had to pay. Everything else went well.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip Oct 11, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great location"
Great hotel in the perfect London location. Big rooms, especially for England.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Sep 8, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location to many other interests."
No complaints with the hotel...was in a great location and access to the casino was convenient.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Sep 4, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO GREEN PARK, WELL LOCATED."
This is my third time at this hotel. It is well located. You are basically one block away from The Ritz, and The Wolseley, the latter being a great restaurant/tea place. You are very close to Green Park and its metro station, and not far away from Hyde Park, therefore it's very convenient. The shopping streets, like Regent, Oxford, Bond, Old Bond, are not far away. My experience was great, and in short, I love London and I love this hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and your visit. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. With best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Aug 16, 2013
Richard
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice Hotel, Close to Many Things"
My wife and I are Americans living in England because of my job. We stayed here because we wanted a nice place for a weekend away from the kids for our anniversary. Since we have lived here a while we always have mixed expectations for anything we do, but this hotel overall was very nice.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoy our Hotel. We do hope to welcome you back soon. With best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Aug 3, 2013
Alex
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hotel in great location."
The location is great. Close to Picadilly and the West End. Near Green Park tube station. Quiet street. Room decoration is the only thing I didn't like. Wifi is included and works very well. The room is tidied up several times a day which is great.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you were happy with your overall stay here at The May Fair. I have taken note of your additional comments about room decoration and I will certainly follow up on this feedback. We do hope to welcome you back soon. With best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Jul 21, 2013
Gus
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"nice hotel in the middle of london.."
great experience.. great staff, close to everywhere
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 18, 2013
silvia
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Favorite Hotel in London"
We love the Mayfair Hotel. We have stayed there twice and enjoyed both times. Very friendly staff and there to help with anything. The hotel is close to all the good attractions and sites.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. With my best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Jul 18, 2013
Tom
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Don't expect 3:00 pm check-in"
I've stayed at this particular hotel many times in the past. If you are an American it will be up to standard for what you expect a hotel to be. However, do not arrive expcting your room to be ready at 3:00 per your reservation. On a number of occasions I have arrived early (my flights from US usually bring me into London about noon) and I leave my luggage at the hotel and occupy myself (and sometimes family) until 3:00 when our room is to be ready. On too many occasions my room is NOT ready and then the game begins with the staff claiming one different excuse after another thinking a weary traveler will be ok with this. I've been given the run around by staff one too many times. After traveling for 22 hrs and paying TOP dollar, all rooms should be ready for their guests. I recommend if you are tired and need your room on time (while paying a prmium), stay somewhere else.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review. I was so sorry to read your comments and I would like to start by offering you my personal apologies for the inconvenience you have undoubtedly been caused. I will certainly follow up your comments with both my Front of House Manager and Executive Head Housekeeper so thank you for bringing this to my attention. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. With best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Jul 14, 2013
Ian
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very nice hotel well located in London"
Traveling with 2 children in Europe we found it difficult to find rooms large enough for four people (rather than using two rooms), but the May Fair had a "family size" room with two queen size beds which worked perfectly. Upscale hotel, with excellent staff and appointments. Easy access to shopping, restaurants, and the Underground. We had one problem with the room, which was corrected courteously by the staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments were a pleasure to read. We do hope we can welcome you back soon. With best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Jul 10, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel in best area of London"
Really enjoyed the hotel and neighborhood. Mayfair is great. Fab shopping, quiet, great restaurants in walking distance. Can walk to green/Hyde / st James parks.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The May Fair
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back soon. With best wishes, Anthony Anthony Lee General Manager
Other trip Jul 7, 2013
ben
US

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
"Perfect location, rooms need refurbishment"
Family weekend. Perfect and quiet location. Plus: Breakfast, free goodies in the afternoon. Minus: Tiny bathroom for being a family room, a bit old room interior, stupid wardrobe that could not be opened without blocking the TV, could not close one window.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip Jan 9, 2016
Mi
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
Good hotel, good staff, breakfast average
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Feb 26, 2016
John
GB
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not as advertised."
Booked for experience of an elegant room for Valentines weekend. Room offered was Best Western style, very plain, not as advertised. Not what I paid for at all.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Feb 12, 2016
A Traveler
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Making wonderful family memories"
Bloody Fantastic!! Can't rate this stay high enough!! the kids couldn't believe there was a posh pick n mix in wonderful reception- Liked the lifesize sheep with silver horns. It was for my mum Rosanna's 80th & she was upgraded to glorious suite with all sorts of goodies left in her room-. Just want to say to the manager if they're reading this- you made her year!! and made our's too because she was so happy. You made some lovely memories for our family.....I can't thank you enough!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Jan 29, 2016
MS c
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
Stayed in room 251.Great except for the noise from the air-conditioning/heating units outside the window. There was a constant hum through the night - not quite enough to keep you awake. Bit like sleeping on a plane!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 19, 2016
wendy
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel"
Great hotel
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jan 19, 2016
John
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great place to stay in Mayfair"
Everything was perfect here. Excellent service and room. Breakfast was great too although pretty standard food. All shops nearby are quite pricey because of the area. Nothing to complain about.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jan 11, 2016
A Traveler
AS
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very welcoming staff made it a nice stay."
My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Year. Upon arrival we were greeted by extremely helpful and friendly concierge and front desk staff. This continued throughout our stay and cant praise their efforts high enough, certainly some of the best attention to detail and helpfulness I have experienced in the last few years. Restaurant food was nice, the room service was of excellent quality. Was a little over bearing with some of the staff constantly checking if they could come in a tidy the room or re-stock the fridge, it could happen several times a day while we were in the room. The suite was nice, huge bathroom and free standing bath. The open plan shower looked elegant but did tend to get water all over the floor in that part of the bathroom as it didn't have a door on the facility and so the water was free to spray out. Would stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Dec 26, 2015
Gareth
GB
3.0 / 5Good
"Not as good as it used to be"
Third stay here and unfortunately it just isn't the same as it used to be. We stayed one night and were woken on the morning of our checkout at 8:30am by housekeeping asking what time we would be leaving the room. Checkout is 12 noon. Really ruined the stay for us. Breakfast was also not great. Pancakes from the hot menu were served cold and not worth the money
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 31, 2015
Vicki
GB
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews