All hotels in Charleston, South Carolina, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC, 29403-5123, United States of America, ‏‎855-239-9485
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.1 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 339 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.4
  • Service
    4.4
  • Comfort
    4.2
  • Condition
    4.2
  • Neighborhood
    3.7
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Awesome hotel downtown"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Everything was great. Awesome food and the staff was wonderful.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Wow! Thank you so much for the 5 star rating. It gives me great pleasure to read that you had a great experience at the hotel and were thoroughly spoiled by my associates.Our team will be appreciate of being recognized for their efforts. Please come back and see us again soon! Safe Travels Always! Kelly Marzullo General Manager
Other trip Nov 20, 2014
Reggie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"It was a nice facility. One complaint"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
It was a nice stay. Complaints; The mattress closest to the window was crushed down on the side toward the night stand making for less-than-comfortable sleep. The television had limited maximum control volume We had difficulty hearing the programs.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Dear Bob, Thank you for staying at the Marriott Charleston recently. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We take great pride in our customer service and it is never our intention to disappoint our guests in any way. I sincerely apologize about the inconvenience you had to face because of the television volume, faulty mattress and for the resulting less-than-comfortable sleep. I have already addressed these issues with my engineering and housekeeping teams, and corrective action has been taken to ensure that this does not happen again. Please stay with us again on your next visit to Charleston ! Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager
Other trip Nov 20, 2014
Bob
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Hotel, expensive wi fi rates"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
I really enjoyed my stay. However, the $10 per day charge for Wi Fi was too expensive.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you loved your stay. I am sorry our wifi charges did not meet your expectations .We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night business trip Nov 13, 2014
Jamie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Marriott experience"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Stayed at the Charleston Marriott 27-28 Oct14. Our ist room was 516 and it was not ready for guests, {toilet broken, hall soda machine broken, One bed was not completely made {appears someone has layer or set on it} HOWEVER, the front desk immediately moved us to 803 and we ere happy campers.. Food was exc ellent also.. You will see us again. Ron Eckert
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations, and I will share with my staff of the wonderful job they did. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charleston Marriott. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
2 night romance trip Oct 26, 2014
ronald
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very nice and well priced."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Im not sure why people are complaining about tgis hotel. We thought it was very nice and comfortable. The beds were extra nice. The courtyard and pool areats were very relaxing Nd offered a great space to hang out and recover from wandering the city The lication is a bit odd but we were able to walk to new trendy areas and excellent restaurants. Easy free parking turbed out to be a huge bonus. For the money this hotel is an rxcellent value. Is stay there again unless i had a bigger budget for something fancy.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Our goal is to provide an environment that lets you relax and unwind or connect and create. Whatever needs you have we are here to assist and make your stay comfortable. I will share your wonderful comments with my staff and thank them for their hard work they put in daily. I do hope you have a chance to return back and experience our newly renovated and up dated facilities soon. Thank you again, Victoria Facemire General Manager Charleston Plaza Hotel
2 night trip with friends Oct 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Musty room"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
The hotel common areas were nice and well kept. My room was exceptionally musty. The windows don't open so you can't get fresh air. It is too far away from the historic district to walk. A disappointing stay for a Marriott.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Good day Carrie, Thank you for your recent review online. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Charleston Marriott. I am sorry that you had some issues regarding your room with our Housekeeping department. I have shared your feedback with my Director of Housekeeping and staff at our meeting, and we have taken actions to assure we do not repeat these issues in the future. I do hope you consider us again when you return to Charleston in the future. Safe Travels Always! Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night business trip Oct 23, 2014
Carrie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very nice hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
The hotel was great, very clean, friendly staff. I had googled @hotels in historic Charleston", however, and was hoping for something in the French Quarter. This hotel was about 2 miles away but for $6 pp we were able to day the shuttle to that area.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Good Day Tammy, Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations, and I will share with my staff of the wonderful job they did. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charleston Marriott. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
2 night business trip Oct 18, 2014
Tammy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Straightforward comfort and convenience"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Newly renovated, very comfortable. I always enjoy staying here.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Good Day Tracy, Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations, and you liked our revamped and remodeled hotel. I will share with my staff of the wonderful job they did. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charleston Marriott. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Oct 20, 2014
Tracy
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"the best staff in Charleston"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
As far as hotels go, the hotel's common areas were clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptional... Anything you needed they would take care of. I can't give enough praise for the desk staff. They made our stay more enjoyable. The shuttle bus was a great extra to have.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott. As the GM, your compliments were a pleasure to read and I was delighted to hear that you were thoroughly spoiled by our associates. I will be sure to share your fantastic remarks with my Management team and the entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back very soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Oct 14, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"old building with new decor"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I almost hesitate to write this because the hotel staff were so lovely and in the end they're doing the best they can with what they have. But I too have stayed at Marriotts all over the world and this property is disappointing. We stayed here 20 years ago and while they've redecorated there is no amount of Fabreeze that can hide the signs of old building aging badly in a damp climate. We couldn't or wouldn't open our curtains because the double paned windows were framed with crud, wall paper peeling away around them and everywhere the smell of air freshener to cover up whatever was underneath. All of these things could be overlooked because the staff and service is so great if the cost of the rooms was not that of 4 and 5 star hotels -- which is just isn't in it's current state. Someone built the wrong kind of building for that area and they're doing their best to keep it up but I think they'd be better served tearing it down and building a new one.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Marriott and for sharing your comments online. I will be sure to share your positive remarks with my team about their services. I appreciate your candid feedback about your accommodations. We have completed our planning stage and will start the ""refurbishment"" project very soon, including hotel rooms, lobby, restaurant and meeting facilities. I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marriott, and experience the new look and feel of the Marriott. Please contact my office with your future stay dates and I will see to your reservations personally and hope to regain your confidence. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Oct 14, 2014
Blanche
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"I forgot my credit card at home"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I thought the staff at your motel was wonderful, until I got a phone call at 8pm from a man that was screaming at me that I had not paid my bill at the restaurant. I had dinner every night I was there so I asked what night was he talking about and he said the night of Oct. 8th. I told him I know I paid my bill because a new bartender was on and I had given him a $20 tip. I had prepaid for Breakfast but had to sign a slip every morning so after I paid the bartender I signed the slip without thinking of it. Next I got a call from the new bartender and he said he was sorry, he had gotten busy and wrote the slip by mistake. Now I don't mind being questioned about if I paid or not because I was paying in cash. I guess it was the restaurant manager that called me, he was yelling so much I didn't get he name.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property recently. We want every guest who stays with us to have an outstanding time and leave with a lasting favorable impression. We fell short in making that happen for you and we are truly sorry. I am glad I got a chance to talk this over with you and my associate and get the issue resolved. Although your experience is not typical of our usually excellent service we obviously have room to improve and I assure you we will. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of providing you with service that you truly deserve. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Oct 13, 2014
KayKay
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hotel was not as centrally located as I expected"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Even though the hotel was not in the center of town, the hotel provided a shuttle bus at a nominal charge that was perfect. It dropped off and picked up frequently and made getting around downtown easy. The staff at the Marriott was phenomenal! They gave us great insight as to where to go, what to see and where to eat. They made reservations for us as well. They were very friendly and informative. This hotel was also half the price of the many downtown hotels, so it was well worth it!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and taking the time to share your experience online. We take great pride in delivering excellent service, coupled with our closeness to downtown location - it makes our Marriott one of the best hotels to stay at while in Charleston. It was a pleasure to read your comments and they assure me that we are on the right track. We appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed the great value we offer at such affordable rates. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Oct 12, 2014
Elise
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Very nice. Good restaurant and nice roof top bar. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great place if you are having a conference
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at our hotel recently. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon . Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Oct 5, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Clean and Convenient"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Overall the hotel was very clean, accommodating and close to downtown Charleston. Laying out poolside was very relaxing and the bar off the main lobby and on the roof deck had good atmospheres with a friendly bartenders.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations, and I will share with my staff of the wonderful job they did. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charleston Marriott. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night romance trip Sep 18, 2014
Justin Hoffart
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"very nice hotel and staff"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
great stay not in middle of charleston but have a suttle pick u up every half hr very clean comfortable and staff couldnt do more for u
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and your gracious feedback. I am glad you found the hotel clean, comfortable, up to date and its convenient location to Downtown Charleston. All of these dynamics with wonderful hotel staff makes us the hotel of choice when in Charleston. Thank you again for choosing the Marriott and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Sep 21, 2014
ginny
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Very nice sunset, rooftop bar. Comfortable, clean rooms.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Marriott and for giving us your wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager
1 night business trip Sep 10, 2014
John Smithhart
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Very tight room!"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This was the smallest room that I ever saw two queen sized beds crammed into!! Very tiny for 4 people. Didn't even have enough room for our bags! Definitely won't be back!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your recent stay and for sharing your experience online. We are sorry that the size of our room was not to your liking. We also have many suites available to choose from, that consist of large living space for the family with a separate sleeping room. We do hope you give us another chance when you do return to the Charleston area. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Sep 3, 2014
Nikki
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Labor Day in Charleston S.C"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The hotel was beautiful. We loved the atmosphere and the staff was very accommodating. We loved the view from the roof top lounge. The only thing that bothered me was the shower needs to be regrouted or cleaned. There was no microwave in the room and the coffee pot is for a single serving. Other than that it was a very nice hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay during Labor Day weekend. I am very happy that you were pleased with your stay and do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Sep 2, 2014
Lori
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Centrally located, clean comfortable, reasonable."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Toured the city, dined with friends, thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Sep 1, 2014
Gar & Mary Ann
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Pretty solid hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Nothing exceptional, but clean and friendly for sure.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Marriott recently and for giving us your feedback. I am glad you were pleased with your stay and we look forward to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Aug 30, 2014
Escuandolas
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Nice hotel, reasonably convenient to downtown Charleston with nice amenities. Definitely recommend!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay at our hotel recently.I am glad you were satisfied with your stay and found our hotel to be conveniently located near downtown. I hope to see you again in the near future when in Charleston. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Aug 30, 2014
Charles
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Mold in shower and shower door broken. Peeling wallpaper in shower. Rusty bolts in shower. Air conditioner was not as cool as we like. Hotel itself was nice but Room needed maintenance. Too expensive a room to be in this condition.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your candid feedback. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay and have already taken steps to fix these issues. We are in the process of starting "room refresh" project in 2014. I would love for you to return to the Marriott for another stay and experience our newly appointed accommodations.We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
2 night trip Aug 22, 2014
Copper
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Citadel parent"
  • Cleanliness
    1.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    1.0
We have stayed here many times...we booked thru 3rd party this one time. The room had not been vaccumed and mold in shower...not sure if discounted rate puts you in a unclean room, we were surprised...not like Marriott's standards...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying with us again and for giving us your feedback. I am truly sorry for letting you down this time. We value all our guests and pride ourselves for exceptional service. I have shared your comments with my housekeeping team, and our head of Housekeeping has taken action to assure we do not repeat these service issues in the future. Thanks again for your genuine comments, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to provide you with a wonderful stay. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night trip Aug 23, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The stay at the hotel was nice, clean, nice staff, and offered night entertainment.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Charleston in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night family trip Aug 21, 2014
Israel
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"We liked the rooftop lounge."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Everything in the hotel was clean, comfortable and the service was great. The shuttle into town was handy, but we had no problems taking our car into town. We found free parking on side streets. It wasn't "in" town, but close enough. The concierge was very helpful with information and discounts to many attractions.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and taking the time to share your experience. We take great pride in delivering excellent service, coupled with our closeness to downtown location - it makes our Marriott one of the best hotels to stay at while in Charleston. It was a pleasure to read your comments and they assure me that we are on the right track. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
3 night romance trip Aug 15, 2014
Judy
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Nice hotel very clean lovely pool and restaurant. I would stay here again. If you are looking for a downtown hotel the Marriott Downtown hotel is NOT downtown it's 2 miles away from downtown you will need to drive or catch the hotel bus. They charge you $8 per person.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and loved our facilities, I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Charleston in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Aug 20, 2014
peter
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Place to Stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Every time we go to Charleston, we stay here. A short ride to the heart of the city, this hotel is family friendly and very welcoming.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for returning to the Charleston Marriott for your stay once again. The best compliment a guest can give is to return to the hotel they love staying at, and also sharing their experience with others. We continually strive to provide our guests the most memorable experience and your comments show that we are upholding this standard. I will share with all my staff your wonderful feedback as they will be very happy to hear that their efforts are noticed and continue to provide stellar service to all our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night trip Aug 15, 2014
Danielle M.
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Just okay"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
The hotel was fine for 1 night. The rooms need an update. Looked like it was a great hotel in the 1990s.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at our hotel recently and for taking the time to give us your feedback.I am happy to let you know that we have completed our planning stage and will start the "refurbishment" project in 2014 including hotel rooms, lobby, restaurant and meeting facilities. I would love for you to return to the Marriott for another stay and experience our newly appointed accommodations. Please contact my office with your future stay dates and I will see to your reservations personally and hope to regain your confidence. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night business trip Aug 16, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Room"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Only complaint is the room view. It was a big view of the dirty roof. We were on level 2.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your review, I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay at the Charleston Marriott. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
2 night trip Aug 14, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice place"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great location in Charleston. Easy access to all the tourist spots.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Marriott recently and for sharing your comments regarding the location of the hotel. Even though we are not in the heart of Downtown Charleston, our location offers a wonderful option of serenity, right across the river with River Views from our rooms. In addition, our wonderful award-winning restaurant, Saffire, has a seasonally inspired menu of the highest quality and our rooftop bar, Aqua Terrace, has magnificent views and sunsets, and is also a favorite for sporting events with our flat screen TV's - making Charleston Marriott one of the best hotels to stay when in Charleston. Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Aug 18, 2014
butch
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Old"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Appears to be old. Wallpaper peeling off in restrooms
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Marriott and for sharing your comments online. I appreciate your candid feedback about your accommodations. We have completed our planning stage and will start the "refurbishment" project in 2014 including hotel rooms, lobby, restaurant and meeting facilities. I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marriott, and experience the new look and feel of the Marriott. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
4 night business trip Aug 7, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"reasonable, clean and quick drive to everything"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Overall, the Marriott was above average and had everything we needed. It was clean and close to all major areas downtown. However, it is not in walking distance. A cab ride is $10 each way to just about anywhere on King and East Bay Street. It is about 20 minutes from the beaches and airport, but t was a very easy drive to all locations. Front desk service was very friendly and professional, but the restaurant and pool service were extremely slow in greeting us and bringing drinks/food. I would recommend more wait service during busy times. Our rooms were average and clean, but the bed and pillows were hard and the bathroom could be updated more. The gym was small, but had plenty of new cardio and weight equipment. It was very clean and had space for everyone to do their individual exercises. The pool area was beautiful with a lot of outdoor cabana style seating, but getting a lounge chair pool side was tough during busy times. I would recommend this place for business trips or personal trip for sight-seeing around downtown.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I will certainly share your observations and use it as a training tool with my management team to apply corrective actions. We do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
4 night trip with friends Aug 7, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"weekend getaway"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
This was the second time we stayed here. Great location and always nice and clean.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott hotel for your stay once again. As a General Manager, there is nothing greater than to hear that a guest returns to our hotel because they love the staff, location, amenities and everything our hotel has to offer. We are very proud of our associates as they strive to go above and beyond to welcome every guest who walks into our lobby everyday.  We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Charleston Marriott. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
3 night trip Jul 31, 2014
traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
The staff were very rude. We checked out the next day and spent the rest of our vacation at another hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott, I am sorry you were disappointed in my staff and I apologize on their behalf. We are very particular about how we treat every guest who walks through our doors.I have spoken to my staff to make sure it never happens again to yourself, or any other guest. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night trip Jul 31, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"We'll be back."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We had a great stay. The hotel was very nice as was the staff. The pool area was so inviting I had to go down with a book. I'd love to go back and just hide out in the hotel for a little personal downtime. The shuttle made it easy to experience historic Charleston. The rooms and bed was also very comfortable and clean. I absolutely loved it.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charleston Marriott. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Aug 2, 2014
Little M
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great place to stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
We stayed for three nights and loved it! The pool and outside area were perfect for relaxing outdoors. The staff was friendly and very helpful with suggestions for must see attractions, as well as meeting any/all our needs. For families, there was a playground area just down the street for your little one(s) to burn some energy. I look forward to a return trip!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you loved our facilities and also found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We will surely look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager
3 night family trip Jul 26, 2014
Amy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very close to downtown and a lot of restaurants"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The live Band on Thursday thru Saturday night was fantastic. It was very comfortable and relaxing.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Marriott and for sharing your experience. I am glad you had a wonderful time during your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Jul 28, 2014
Lynette
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful hotel very friendly staff"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Our family had a wonderful stay at the Charleston Marriott. the staff was friendly and accommodating. A great plus was the proximity of the 3 local beaches, each were within a minute drive from the hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow online reviewers regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott. I am so pleased you had a wonderful experience. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Charleston in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Jul 22, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Overall a very nice hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
We liked this hotel very much. I was little disappointed with the view from our room it was a very ugly roof top. The proximity to attractions was a bit further then we would have liked. Other then that we thought it was a very nice hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for sharing your feedback with fellow online reviewers. It is always great to hear that our guest has enjoyed their stay at the Charleston Marriott. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
3 night family trip Jul 16, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Room wasn't ready until 4:30pm. Mold in bathroom and shower area.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at Charleston Marriott and for posting your experience. I will certainly share your observations and use it as a training tool with my management team to apply corrective actions. We do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night romance trip Jul 19, 2014
Andrew Hyland
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Bad experience with the check in process
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at Charleston Marriott and for posting your experience. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I will certainly share your observations and use it as a training tool with my management team to apply corrective actions. We do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night trip Jul 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    2.0
Guest room could have used some refreshing, but common areas were well maintained. Restaurant was good.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your stay and sharing your comments. If you are back in our area, please come and stay with us again. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
3 night trip Jul 12, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"nice place to stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
very nice had good time on third floor bar
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Charleston Marriott. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night trip Jul 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We stayed at this hotel for one night. Beautiful grounds, nice room, decent location close from the interstate but a little far from the more popular parts of Downtown.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and your gracious feedback. I am glad you found the hotel clean, comfortable, up to date and its convenient location to the interstate. All of these dynamics with wonderful hotel staff makes us the hotel of choice when in Charleston. Thank you again for choosing the Marriott and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
Other trip Jul 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great place to stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Was only there for one night but was very satisfied with service level.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Comfortable, Clean and Beautifully Decorated."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. However, the bathroom vent fans are not efficient, and our room was very humid all night, despite the fact that we had the air conditioning turned down. That is our only complaint.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 14, 2014
Jessica
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Nice and clean hotel. The staff was friendly. I wish it had been a bit closer to the historic district.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 10, 2014
melody
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Charming old southern hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Quaint and southern charm made this hotel exquisite. Staff was amazing especially valet/bellman. The only thing that was ruined, not the hotels fault, was that our window opened to a towering 5 floor monstrous garage. How could the historic society allow that to be built? Otherwise, hotel was amazing. Personally would rate it 5 stars. Amazing turndown service as well.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 5, 2014
BK
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Disappointed"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    2.0
Lobby level nice. Rooms leave something to be desired. First room had broken door in shower ad was rusted and dirty. Second room had mold near the AC intake. Room was ok - bed was good. Views stink an so does the parking on site. The parking is not convenient. Definitely not worth the money we spent.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jun 27, 2014
Jason
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Not close to historic district but priced right"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
This is a beautiful hotel on the outskirts of Charleston. We enjoyed the pool area and rooftop bar. Room was clean and comfortable. Our family didn't mind the 2 mile walk to downtown but if you are not walkers, it's rather far. There is a free trolley and a shuttle that the hotel charges a nominal fee for. If I could get the same price, I'd stay closer in but given that those hotels are much more expensive, this hotel is great.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Charleston Marriott
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Marriott recently and for sharing your comments regarding the location of the hotel. Even though we are not in the heart of Downtown Charleston, our location offers a wonderful option of serenity, right across the river with River Views from our rooms. In addition, our wonderful award-winning restaurant, Saffire, has a seasonally inspired menu of the highest quality and our rooftop bar, Aqua Terrace, has magnificent views and sunsets, and is also a favorite for sporting events with our flat screen TV's - making Charleston Marriott one of the best hotels to stay when in Charleston. Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott
1 night trip Jun 28, 2014
Laura
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews