Overall it was a good stay, the positives are way too many like the room size, the cleanliness, the location, the pool, the gym, the view..etc. The negatives are: extremely long lines on check in, smaller loby than expected and bad milk (half and half) with the in room coffee.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I really enjoyed my stay at the westin Ottawa. The view was amazing, and the concierge was extremely helpful and friendly.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"walking distance to everything"
First time visit to Ottawa and this hotel was the perfect spot. You don't have to step outside to go to a mall. How convenient is that. Walking distance to other shops and resteraunts and Parliament building close by.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Westin Ottawa Dear Peter, Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Ottawa, and your stay at The Westin. I look forward to welcoming you back again when your travels bring you to Ottawa. Be well, John J General Manager
"Very central to main sites!"
Great hotel with nice amenities and conveniently located within Rideau mallGenuine Expedia guest review
Amazing hotel in a great location. The room had an amazing view, while the staff were very helpful. The bathroom door was stupidly designed, but everything else was great.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Rooms really noisy"
We can hear what other people were talking about around the floor. No lock on the bathroom. Really disapponting hotelGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Westin Ottawa Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. I apologize that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay. In the future, I would encourage you to request a room at the end of the hall to minimize floor noise. Our washroom doors do not have locks; I apologize if this is not to your liking, however this is one of our safety and security guidelines. Be well, John J General Manager
"Central location for winter travelling with kids"
Overall, we're quite satisfied with our stay. A little disappointed when we checked in with our reservation in the evening. We were offered 2 double beds instead of 1 king bed which was on our reservation. In the end, this was corrected. We had a pleasant stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Connected to a nice mall"
This was the second time I stayed here because I was pleased with my first visitGenuine Expedia guest review
Wonderful stay. Appreciated upgrade to our room. Fantastic view !Genuine Expedia guest review
this is a very posh hotel with great service and very close to all the downtown attractions. The restaurant was pricey, but very worthwhile. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Because the Hotel has leased out the dining room business, they are limited in what they can serve with room service. I ordered a cocktail from room service and was told they could not serve anything except wine and beer. A glass of modest wine delivered to the room was 2x the cost of a bottle at the LCBO. Valet parking was very expensive.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"The service was terrible"
Service was terrible, took them 45 min before they could change the coffee machine that wasn't working in the room.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Our 50th. Anniversary provided excellent service from all staff, and excellent access to downtown shopping and restaurants, plus a great winter view of Confederation Square and Parliament buildings.Genuine Expedia guest review
we booked a king room and was given 2 doubles, so we upraded for an extra fee.Genuine Expedia guest review
Very very pleasant. Clean, great location and overall very convenient.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Nice hotel in downtown Ottawa"
Description of guest / room amenities differs from what is actually offered. Contact hotel to verify. Business centre contracted out to 3rd party. $8 for 15min of computer use. In-room wi-fi is not complimentary.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Fabulous Weekend Getaway"
We had a great trip to Ottawa this past weekend. My husband was there for a business meeting so I tagged along. The staff at the Westin were helpful and friendly. Our room was fantastic, spacious and clean, comfortable bed and pillows. There were only 2 negatives, the elevators Sunday morning were having issues and we waited over 20 minutes to get downstairs […] and we had a flight to catch, not so great. Also, we had a room that had an adjoining door and you could really hear the people in the next room. Other than that the location was great, being attached to the mall was great and the staff was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Holiday with my granddaughter"
An outstanding experience! We upgraded to a junior suite and the accommodation was superb! The door person chatted with my granddaughter - the check-in staff offered a late check out - room service (both food and staff) were great - the pool was clean and inviting. We'll come back during Winter Break!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Good hotel for both business and total relaxation"
A positive stay. However your rates for my communication are beyond my justification. To have approval for a return stay I must have an efficient total WiFi access for the entire hotel and that access be complimentary. Second I need complimentary phone service ie no charge local calling and credit card calling.Genuine Expedia guest review
"excellent stay and very central"
hotel staff were excellent. hotel central and very clean. I will stay again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Nice hotel, excellent location. The staff were helpful and friendly.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Close to most areas in the City of Ottawa"
The bed was not comfortable - heavy blankets which were sort of hard and pillows weren't comfortable.Genuine Expedia guest review
"among the best. close to everything."
It was a fast check in. I do not know if expedia or the staff that put us on the 21st floor. The wi-fi was not free but this was available at the Convention center. after the sessions we walked along the canal and to the shopping centers and to the Parliament building and surrounding areas.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Westin Ottawa Dear Jimmy, Thank you for posting your comments! Unless specially requested, rooms are assigned upon arrival, and so it would have been our guest services staff that placed your room on the 21st floor. I hope you enjoyed the view! Also although in-room wifi is not free, we do offer complimentary internet access in the lobby, as well as in both restaurant areas. It's great to hear that you were able to get out and enjoy the Rideau Canal and some of the great shopping attractions nearby. I hope to welcome you back again soon! Be well, John J General Manager
"Hotel went above and beyond"
We stayed here on our wedding night and had a beautiful suite with exceptional views. The room was spotless and well-appointed. Hotel staff were attentive and friendly and truly went above and beyond. We also had a lovely brunch with family at Daly's.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Westin Ottawa Dear sarah, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay with us! I am delighted to hear that you chose to spend your wedding night with us at The Westin Ottawa, and that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay special. I hope to welcome you back for many great stays to come, perhaps including some anniversary celebrations! Be well, John J General Manager
"Wonderful place to stay!!"
Only stayed one night but really wonderful rooms, motel, service, pools, & staff! Close to downtown, shopping, food, & sights. Would definitely stay here again when the price was low again!! L&JGenuine Expedia guest review
"Close to all of the sites and pubs downtown"
Hotel is clean, however our room ended up having two double beds instead of two queen or a king which was cozy but could have been better for my wife and I. We ate at the restaurant our first night, my wife's chicken dish look and tasted like KFC and my Porterhouse steak was chewy as hell.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Westin has the most comfortable beds"
Westin beds are the most comfortable.. Location was nice in Ottawa Amenities for SPG were wonderfulGenuine Expedia guest review
"Disappointed at the end."
I had rented this hotel room for a special night with a friend on her birthday. Everything was great until the next morning when we were in a hurry to get showered to make our breakfast date with friends on time. At that point we discovered the shower drain was blocked. Showering with the water on for 10 seconds at a time is no fun at all. What really […] burns me is that I couldn't even speak with anyone about it. I called and left a message with a staff member while my friend was in the shower when no manager was available to speak with. I called the day after and left a voicemail with someone who has a title something like 'client experience manager' when that individual failed to pick up their phone. Additionally, an email I sent yesterday has not been returned. How does such a recognized hotel chain fall down so many times? How do you not notice a drain is blocked when you clean a shower? How do you fail to respond to * three * attempts by your customer to engage you and give you a chance to make it right? Great place, just make sure you have time to wait in the morning for them to find someone to fix your drain so you can shower. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Nice hotel, great location. Great staff."
Great location, clean room. There were some ppl having party at 3:00 am in the morning. Complained to the front desk and it went quiet after.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Was exactly what we were looking for"
Perfect easy access to shopping, eating and in and out of the cityGenuine Expedia guest review
The hotel was overall great! We loved the location, and the staff were really nice and accommodating. They gave us a late checkout, and returned a lost item! The room service breakfast was delicious! The only thing that bothered us was in the morning, the staff cleaning the room next to us were loud, and woke us up a little early. Overall, we had a […] great stay, and would go again! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"A very pleasant stay"
We stayed at the Westin Ottawa for one night and were overall very pleased. The hotel was very clean, classy and very well-maintained. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The service by all the staff was excellent. Location was fabulous - very convenient to all of the major sites. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Could have been better"
My own personal experience was fine. However I was with a bridal party and everybody else had a ton of issues. There was issues with billing, housekeeping kept interrupting us the morning of the wedding, asking if they could clean around the bride getting ready and having pictures taken. Housekeeping was more concerned about the fact that there shift […] was over in 20 minutes than about what we needed. Even though we told them three times we wouldn't have time for them to clean the room. Front desk could not guarantee an early check in even though the hotel wasn't close to being fully booked. Event coordinator was not coordinated to handle anything. Wedding rehearsal wasn't even in the right room. The sent us to another room that was already set up for another function. So there was tables and chairs in the way. I would never recommend this hotel for a wedding. If you were just staying for one night and didn't need any special requests than it might be suitable Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Westin Ottawa Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Although I am happy to hear that you did not experience any issues personally, I am both concerned and surprised to hear of the difficulties presented to the wedding you were involved in. I am truly sorry that your day was hampered by these issues, I assure you that this is not a typical experience of a Westin Ottawa bride or wedding party. Although our policy is to never guarantee early arrvials, we are of course always happy to accommodate requests when occupancy allows. With regards to the billing and housekeeping issues, I assure you that this is in no way what we deem to be acceptable, and both items have been brought to the attention of our leadership team to ensure your experience is not repeated. I am also following up directly with our catering and events team regarding the rehearsal mix up. Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention, and I apologize for the added stress I'm sure this must have caused to such a busy and important day. I hope to welcome you back again in the future for a flawless stay. Be well, John J General Manager
We were there for a kid-free weekend. The hotel and room were perfect, view of sparks st and parliament was incredible, we were in walking distance of everything, could have not asked for anything more! !Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Stayed for our wedding night. Couldn't have selected a better hotel.Genuine Expedia guest review
the concierges and desk staff were very helpful. had a long wait to valet the car. terrible overcomplicated elevator system. there was someone else's shirt left in the room.Genuine Expedia guest review
My two young children and I enjoyed our stay. The staff were excellent and attended to our requests in a timely fashion and with apparent enjoyment for their job. Although the pool is small given the quality of hotel, the facilities were excellent. All around clean, comfortable and quiet. The morning buffet was supplemented by one of the service staff […] who entertained us with a few magic tricks during our breakfast. Thank you to the Westin. Dr. J.E. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Enjoyed our stay after a wedding anniversaryGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel and valet staff were very helpful, nice and pleasing. I will definitely stay there again. The location was excellent too, walking distance to all tourist attractions.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"shower didn't work"
not satisfied paying over $300 for one night and finding out the shower didn't work in the morning.....unacceptable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Westin Ottawa Dear JW, I am very sorry to hear that your shower did not work properly during your stay with us. I assure you this is in no way acceptable or typical, and I have forwarded your comments on to our Engineering and Housekeeping teams to ensure this type of shortcoming is not repeated. Thank you for your feedback, and be well. John J General Manager
"Very convenient downtown location"
Everything about the hotel was A1 EXCEPT the traffic congestion at the front entrance and the parking. THAT was a nightmare. Otherwise we loved the hotel and it's convenient location. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, roomy and tastefully decorated.Genuine Expedia guest review
This was our first time staying downtown Ottawa, the location is amazing. Short walking distance to everything. The hotel was very clean and up to date. The staff were very friendly, even when we had two very tired young children with us when trying to check in. Thank you for a wonderful experience. Our only minor complaint was that the pool water was […] quite strong with chemicals. Also looks like one or 2 of the elevators were down, trying to get a elevator in the morning for the 4 of us with our bags and a stroller was impossible, after the third one opened and we still couldn't get on, we had to split up, my husband and toddler took one and still took me 2 more elevators to get in one with the stroller. Even so, this will definitely be our choice of hotel when we stay in Ottawa! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
We were impressed with the location as well as with our experience in dealing with various staff-everyone from valet to check in/check out people. We had the wheelchair accessible room which was beautiful and spacious. However just a comment on the accessibility of the washroom-the mirror was much too high for someone sitting in a wheelchair and I am […] of average height. There was also a disappointingly tiny wooden counter on either side of the roll under sink-almost like an afterthought. No room to place any of our toiletries. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Close to Parliament Hill and all sights ."
Excellant and enjoyable stay. Hospitality from everyone in Ottawa was fabulous.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Need to update lobby and Bar"
Great Location The rooms are renovated the lobby and bar are very datedGenuine Expedia guest review
We stayed in room 1023. One complaint we have is the cleanliness of the chairs in the room, otherwise a great stay.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Westin Ottawa Dear Peter, Thank you for your review. I will happily pass your comments on to our housekeeping team so we can ensure the chairs are deep cleaned right away. Be well, Sasha G Director of Guest Services
We stayed two nights and it was wonderful. The staff very friendly, only comment I have, is the room, was a little warm. The air conditioning didn't seem that cold. But it was livable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
It would have been a lot better if the room across from me wasn`t under construction. Having to pay for internet I thought was rather gauche. Breakfast there was way too expensive. On the other hand. There are plenty of establishments to have breakfast. If you need the internet there are tons of coffee shops with free wifi nearby.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Westin Ottawa Dear Smurf, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that the upgrades taking place in the adjacent room were disruptive during your stay. We are working as quickly and quietly as possible to return these rooms back to working order. I am also sorry to hear that you were disappointed regarding the cost for internet; this is a Westin standard, however we do provide free wifi in our lobby, as well as both restaurants. Thank you and be well, Sasha G Director of Guest Services
The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is well maintained and very clean with all amenities. Perfect location to walk to the Byward Market, parliament, Sparks Street, etc.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"All was good"
Everything was good from the minute we arrivedGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )